Have We Risen?

The heart is a lonely hunter ...

So I was in the middle of watching When We Rise last week when I stumbled upon an article that got me to wondering just how far we’ve risen.

Don’t get me wrong. I think a lot of progress has been made here in the United States over the last fifty years. And even though I was a little disappointed with how When We Rise ended, I don’t want to come across as being critical.

It was a great series and everyone associated with the project deserves our thanks.

What bothered me a bit was that it seemed like the series may have left the impression with some that the point of the gay revolution was to secure the right to marry.

I can understand why those involved in the project would have wanted the series to end on an uplifting note; and certainly the note it ended on was both fair, true and a happy one. Nothing wrong with that. Winning marriage equality was a monumental victory and one all of us should be proud of.

But to me the point of the gay revolution was and remains more about freeing ourselves from all the preconceptions, myths and hatred that existed back in the day and that still exists in many places these days.

That we are mentally ill. That we are pedophiles. That we aren’t real men or real women. That there’s something wrong with us. And that because we are all of these things and more that we should stay in the closet and not trouble good folk, decent folk, people who are somehow better than us.

Freeing ourselves from all that baggage was the first point of the revolution I think; and then, later on, we realized it was also important to free those filled with bigotry and hatred toward us as well.

Yes, being treated equal is important; being able to marry is important. But those things aren’t the whole story I was thinking. And then I ran across this article in the Huffington Post.

It’s a long article, very long, but I think it’s important as well and strongly encourage you to read it and share any thoughts you have.

The reason it’s important is that we’re not there yet. There are still battles to be fought and some of the most important go back to the very first reason I mentioned above for the revolution.

We still have a long way to go in freeing ourselves.

There was a book written a long time ago that I’ve never read, but that had a title that resonated with me the first time I heard it. It’s called The Heart is a Lonely Hunter.

That was the first thought that crossed my mind for some reason after reading the article I’m encouraging you to take a look at. If you have any thoughts once you’ve read it, it would be great if you shared them with me and others.

Leave a Reply

