Farewell …

Relaxing will be fun ...

Letting go of something you love can be as hard as letting go of someone you love. In our just completed story, Jimmy told Jeff he needed to let go of him because he was dying. Although Jeff resisted, he had little choice in the end. I have more choice, but I’ve decided to stop writing and posting new stories online for the foreseeable future.

There are a lot of personal reasons for this. It’s not that I don’t like writing anymore. I still do. But I’m tired for one thing. Writing stories is harder than it may seem at first glance; and then editing and posting a new chapter online every week is harder still.

I’m also pretty much out of ideas at the moment. Actually, I did have one idea for a story and I had even written a few chapters. I was excited about that because it gave me a chance to explore writing a story in a different way than you’re used to seeing from me.

Sadly, the election of Donald Trump pretty much killed the idea I had. Absent new ideas (and you’re welcome to share any you have), there’s not very much a writer can do.

It’s also hard writing for such a small audience. Don’t get me wrong. I appreciate the encouragement and support you’ve provided me over the years. I have the best audience any writer could ask for. It’s just kind of tiny and I have no way of expanding it having been blackballed by those who run some of the larger gay story sites on the web.

I’ve also come to believe that using my spare time to write stories is selfish at a time when we are about to swear in a narcissist, bigot and serial liar as President. Think I exaggerate? Here are the symptoms of narcissistic personality disorder listed by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders of the American Psychiatric Association.

  • Having an exaggerated sense of self-importance

  • Expecting to be recognized as superior even without achievements that warrant it

  • Exaggerating your achievements and talents

  • Being preoccupied with fantasies about success, power, brilliance, beauty or the perfect mate

  • Believing that you are superior and can only be understood by or associate with equally special people

  • Requiring constant admiration

  • Having a sense of entitlement

  • Expecting special favors and unquestioning compliance with your expectations

  • Taking advantage of others to get what you want

  • Having an inability or unwillingness to recognize the needs and feelings of others

  • Being envious of others and believing others envy you

  • Behaving in an arrogant or haughty manner

Does that sound like anyone you know? As for the rest of it, if you don’t recognize by now that Trump is a bigot and serial liar, you never will. But that doesn’t change the fact that he is. All you have to do is read the news every day and you’ll be reminded of that over and over.

It isn’t a crime to be a narcissist, of course. The Constitution doesn’t prohibit one from serving as President. It also doesn’t prohibit a serial liar or a bigot from being President. The Founding Fathers counted on the good judgment of the electors to weed out people like that.

Sadly, 2016 was an epic fail.

I believe Trump and the Republicans are going to do some terrible things in the next four years and need to be fought.

I don’t entertain any illusions they can be stopped by citizen action. Too many people don’t give a damn for one thing. Like Trump, we have become a country where it’s all about me. We don’t feel connected to our fellow citizens. Being selfish is in, empathy with the less fortunate out.

At least that’s the way I see it; and because I see it that way, I think any spare time I have should be focused on doing whatever I can to fight what’s about to happen. We won’t win, but the least we can do is try.

In about a week or so I’ll be putting up a post welcoming people to this site. You can ignore that. I’m not expecting a lot of visitors, but I do want whoever wanders into this site to feel welcome even after I’ve stopped posting here. The stories will remain available to read.

No one can predict the future. If I do get the urge to write, I may try to rewrite some of my stories to make them more acceptable to a mainstream audience and then possibly try publishing them as e-books at a place like Amazon. Or I may not. I’ll let you know with a post if I do.

Thank you for reading my stories and for being supportive over the years. Many of you seem like old friends and all of you are appreciated. But, like they say, all good things must come to an end.

Farewell for now.

8 thoughts on “Farewell …

  1. Even over here in England some of us are worried what you new pres will do. I can certainly understand why you don’t feel like writing at the moment. When / if you do start again there will be at leat one person ready to read it.

    Thanks for all your work in the past and now you have to try and enjoy the future.

    Best wishes

    1. Thanks, Steve. I realize 2016 was an eventful year for the U.K. as well. Don’t really know the woman, but your new P.M. seems intent on sucking up to Trump.

      Sad … to use one of Trump’s favorite terms 🙂

  2. Still have to post on the last two chapters. Will do that when I get a chance to read.

    Kit so sorry to see you go, at the same time I know that writing stories is a full time job and I am sure you have more to do besides write. I for one will be watching this page.

    As for your President elect I predicted that he would win in June. You have a lot of work to do in the next 4 years otherwise you will be looking at 8 years. Unfortunately in my opinion all democracies are suffering the same problem. We have become elected dictatorships. What the people want is the last thing on a politicians mind. The only concerns a politician has is how do I get elected the first time and how do I keep myself in that position.

    Trump recognized and played on peoples fears. And in 2020 when it comes to marking that “X” beside a name it will be beside Trump if the majority feel he has saved and/or created middle income jobs.

    As I said before I would encourage you to run in 2020 unfortunately I feel that your personal integrity will not permit you to stoop to the level of even the most righteous politician.

    Thanks for everything Kit and let us know how your life is going.

    James

    1. Thanks, James. I have no interest in running for office, but I do care about what happens to this country during the next four years. I’m not optimistic. Trump has proven very good at convincing people he is saving a few American jobs here and there with his blustering tweets, but we’ll see what kind of job he and the Republicans do managing the economy.

      They might even boost the economy in the short-run with their tax cuts for the rich, but look at the disaster that turned out to be when the economy collapsed back in 2008. But it isn’t the rich and powerful who ever suffer, of course.

      In any event, there’s a lot of work to be done.

      1. Thanks Kit, just drop a note now and then to let us know life is treating you okay.

        And keep the pressure on. Sometimes you win sometimes you don’t but at least you are a thorn in the foot that they can’t get rid of:) I’m sure my MP and MLA keep thinking that the old bastard can’t live that much longer:)

      2. No promises, James, but I’ll try to let people know I’m alive occasionally.

        Hey, if I survived and stayed out of jail today, I should be good to go tomorrow and beyond 🙂

  3. I have appreciated your stories and thank you for spending the time to write them. I believe I have read all of them on this site but probably like many others it took a while to make the few comments I did. I whole heartedly agree with you about the scary position our nation is in and do not expect the future to bode well for anyone except the wealthy. I only hope this is a wake up call for the vast majority of citizens who voted against the man and those whose apathy won out and they didn’t vote. I hope he is held to the fire by the press and when state elections begin maybe there will be a turn back to candidates who actually care about others. Good luck with whatever future plans you have for your life. Hope to hear from you in the near future.

    1. It sounds like we’re on the same wavelength politically, Adam, though I’m less optimistic than you about what the 2017/2018 elections will bring. Although I detest the GOP, I’m not a big fan of the Democrats either. They’re pretty spineless. Obama and the Democrats should never have let Mitch McConnell get away with blocking consideration of the Garland Supreme Court nomination. But that’s the Democrats for you; weak and easily bullied when it comes to getting anything done.

      Like Trump says so often when he tweets, sad!

      So far I’m enjoying my time off and not even thinking very much about writing. We’ll see how that plays after a few months. For now, however, it’s delightful having some extra free time.

Leave a Reply

