Donald Trump & The Road Ahead …

So I was sitting here thinking what I wanted to say about The Orange One when a friend forwarded the open letter to Donald Trump that appears below. Apparently it appeared with a notice that it could be freely redistributed without attribution to the anonymous author, whoever he or she may be.

I looked at it and thought it was pretty good. As a matter of fact, I couldn’t think of anything more I could say so I’m going with this as my response to Trump’s election.

Feel free to redistribute it to family, friends and any Trump supporters you know; or to anyone else for that matter. The more people who see this, the better.

An Open Letter to President-elect Donald Trump

Dear Donald:

In your victory speech Wednesday morning you asked Americans to come together as one united people.

“Now it’s time for America to bind the wounds of division; have to get together. To all Republicans and Democrats and independents across this nation, I say it is time for us to come together as one united people. It’s time.”

You also pledged to be a President for all Americans.

“I pledge to every citizen of our land that I will be president for all Americans, and this is so important to me.

Finally, you asked for the help of those of us who opposed you, which, ironically enough, turns out to be the majority of voters since Hillary actually won the popular vote, not you.

“For those who have chosen not to support me in the past, of which there were a few people . . . (laughter) . . . I’m reaching out to you for your guidance and your help so that we can work together and unify our great country.”

Thanks for not grabbing any pussy when you reached out, Donald, and thanks for the inspiring words as well. But it doesn’t work like that.

You can’t call Mexicans rapists and murderers and expect me to fall in line behind you.

Nor can you attack a Federal judge for his Mexican heritage and expect me to fall into line.

You can’t ridicule those with disabilities and expect me to fall in line behind you.

You can’t call women pigs and slobs and disgusting and expect me to fall into line.

You can’t evade paying the Federal income taxes needed to support our military and expect me to fall in line behind you.

Nor can you attack a gold star family and expect me to fall into line.

You can’t suggest all Muslims are terrorists, propose a ban on them entering the country, and suggest profiling is something we’re going to have to start thinking about as a country and expect me to fall in line behind you.

You can’t wink at racism as you did so often throughout the campaign and expect me to fall into line.

You can’t choose an anti-gay political hack for Vice President and expect me to fall in line behind you.

Nor can you run on the most rabidly homophobic GOP platform ever, one that supports a parent’s right to subject gay and transgender children to “conversion therapy” to change their sexual orientation or gender identity, opposes same-sex marriage, and supports state laws limiting which public bathroom transgender people can use and expect me to fall into line.

You can’t tell us you would strongly consider appointing Supreme Court justices who would overturn Obergefell v. Hodges granting gay couples the right to marry and expect me to fall into line behind you.

You can’t tell us you don’t believe in climate change and plan to cancel the Paris climate deal and expect me to fall into line.

You can’t tell us you know more than all the generals do about ISIS and expect me to fall in line behind you.

You can’t tell us you watched thousands and thousands of people cheering in Jersey City as the World Trade Center came down on 9/11 and expect me to fall into line.

You can’t tell us you’ll bring back waterboarding and “a hell of a lot worse” and expect me to fall in line behind you.

These are just a few of the many things you’ve said that make it impossible for me to fall in line behind you. But I’ll tell you what you can expect from me.

You can expect me to accept the fact that you were elected President, not by a majority of those who voted because Hillary did win the popular vote after all. You won because you got a majority of the electoral votes, a system originally designed as a concession to less populous states.

In some alternate universe it probably makes sense that a state like California, which has 69 times as many people as Wyoming, has only 18 times more electoral votes. But, hey, unlike you, I won’t argue the system is rigged.

That’s how we do it in American although it’s beginning to get old when two of the last five Presidential elections have been decided not by the people but by an antiquated system that undercuts the votes of real people.

Like I said, however, that’s okay. Unlike you, I’m with Obama and Clinton and won’t keep you in suspense as you promised to do if you were defeated. I accept your election.

What I don’t accept and will never accept is the racism, misogyny, homophobia, and xenophobia you deliberately stirred up during the campaign and then rode to victory.

I don’t accept and will never accept an American President calling a Russian dictator a strong leader and denigrating our own President at the same time. If you want to kiss Putin’s ass, be my guest. But don’t expect me to approve.

What I don’t accept and will never accept is repealing Obamacare without putting a specific alternative in place at the same time that provides health insurance for the tens of millions of Americans who currently lack such basic protection or who only have it because of Obamacare.

I don’t accept and will never accept Supreme Court Justices committed to overturning Roe v. Wade and gay marriage while upholding the power of dark money enshrined in Citizens United.

I don’t accept and will never accept tax cuts designed to benefit you and your rich cronies that throw a few nickels and dimes at the rest of us.

I don’t accept and will never accept appointing a special prosecutor tasked with “locking her up,” a chant you endorsed and encouraged in a desperate effort to criminalize your opponent.

I’ll be out there fighting these proposals of yours and many others that would do harm to our country.

That’s what the Constitution expects of me.

And if by chance you stumble into a position that would actually benefit the American people, I’ll give you a shout out and support you.

But knowing where you’re coming from, I don’t expect to be doing that often and perhaps not at all. You think you just finished a tough campaign? Mitch McConnell and Paul Ryan are going to roll over you like the useful fool you are.

You’ll get what they give you, nothing more.

You were born and raised in a country from which you have benefited greatly, Mr. Trump, but to which you have contributed very little. Like the great con men of old, you’ve looked for and taken every loophole available to you to avoid paying your fair share of taxes.

You’ve stiffed your business partners whenever you could and declared bankruptcy multiple times in order to leave others holding the bag,

You’ve denigrated countless women verbally and apparently taken liberties physically with others; in the process, you’ve disgraced yourself and embarrassed your family.

What a great role model you are for that ten year old son of yours; and now you get to be a role model for all the rest of our kids.

Try to remember that whenever you open your mouth from now on.

You’ve spent your entire life grasping for money and you have succeeded beyond the imagination of most Americans. But money cannot hide who you are or the kind of campaign you’ve run.

Look in the mirror, Mr. Trump. Do you like what you see?

You shouldn’t.

But now you’ve been entrusted with the highest office in our land, an office once held by Washington, Lincoln, and Roosevelt.

You have the opportunity to be something other than the disgrace you’ve been up until now. I hope you take it.

Until then, however, don’t expect me to unite behind you.

Expect me to fight you tooth and nail.

That, too, like the electoral college, is part of the American way.

Leave a Reply

