Chapter 15 …

Close enough :-)

Last week’s chapter ended a bit mysteriously. After deciding he and Jeff already had an open relationship, one requiring no further discussion between them, Jimmy also concluded that keeping Jeff happy was a job and managed to talk Jeff into giving him an allowance.

Deciding what he should do about the club turned out to be much harder for Jimmy, however. He wanted to join it, no doubt about it, but was also concerned he might end up having to do things that would challenge his sexual self-image.

When Eric called the next morning, Jimmy decided not to attend the lunch and club meeting that day. Once Eric hung up, however, Jimmy began to wonder whether he had made the right decision.

Later Eric called back and told Jimmy that Bobbie would be disappointed if Jimmy didn’t show up for the day’s events. That caused Jimmy to change his mind still again.

At lunch before the club meeting, Jimmy learned from one of the other club members how much the boys in the club were in awe of Bobbie. That didn’t come as any surprise to Jimmy given how attracted he already was to him.

Later, at the club meeting itself, Jimmy ended up losing the special drawing to Del. For some reason, however, Bobbie stepped in and offered Del a choice as to who he could spend time with during the coming week. Del quickly decided he wanted to be friends with Bobbie, not Jimmy.

While we’ll have to wait until next week to clear up that mystery, we’re down to the final three chapters of Part III. Given the absence of comments, it’s hard to tell whether anyone is still reading this story and that only reinforces my own doubts about it.

I’ve always felt what I was trying to do in this story was important. In retrospect, however, it would have probably benefited from a lot more work before starting to post it. I feel like I’ve spent too much time getting us to this point and too little on Part III’s denouement, which is still to come and is probably going to be much too rushed.

I’ve never believed in leaving readers high and dry by not finishing a story, but I’ve been thinking maybe this should be the exception. If you have any thoughts on that, feel free to weigh in.

In any event, I’ve now posted Chapter 15 at The Annex. If it strikes you as too bizarre, feel free to let me know that as well.

4 thoughts on “Chapter 15 …

  1. Don’t you DARE ! leave us hanging on this story Kit. If you did that I would be forced to go to Rehoboth Beach, North Adams, a bunch of minor league baseball games, the THIS & THAT in DC, and Harvard Yard until I found you, fell to my knees and did what I had to do … namely, beg you to finish the story.

    PS. A couple chapters I have tried to comment on but I got an error message. Maybe others are in the same boat.

    1. Hmm … I came over here to start a placeholder for the next chapter and discovered this comment. I’ve already responded to your other comment at The Annex.

      As I told the Captain over there in more detail, I probably won’t quit unless people start clamoring for me to do so. I’m just kind of disappointed in myself. This story could have been so much better if I had just taken a little more time to work on it before rushing to post it online.

      That’s a pretty devastating indictment. But thanks for encouraging me to continue, Tim. I appreciate it.

  2. I hope you continue the story. I have enjoyed it and am looking forward to see how everything turns out. I’m guessing many people read it but don’t take the time to drop a note, as I do not write figuring you are pretty busy. I vote that you keep the story going.

Leave a Reply

