The rent may be too damn high in New York …

A new home can be frightening at first ...

But the snow is much too deep in Washington 😀

It was fun while it lasted, but now all this snow is just a colossal pain in the butt. The schools and government are closed and getting from here to there is difficult as Metro only has limited service at the moment and the roads are still a work in progress.

On top of that, it’s cold. Oh, how I hate the cold! Send me a plane ticket to someplace warm. Please!

You’d think this would be a perfect time to do some writing, but the opposite has been the case for me. I’ve gotten nothing done since the new year began. Partly that’s because I’ve been enjoying my time off since making some site revisions at the end of last year.

But mostly it’s because we have a new member of our household, that creature featured above, who we’re calling Miss Millie.

She’s only about thirteen weeks old so she’s quite a handful … when she’s not hiding under a bed, a bookcase, or a bureau. But she does manage to make her presence known whenever I sit down to try to do some writing.

Soon enough she’s on the desk swiping at the mouse cursor on the screen of the computer; and not long thereafter she’s insisting on some playtime with her pet humans and that’s the end of getting anything accomplished.

All of which is to say that I’m definitely running behind schedule right now. But who knows? Maybe I’ll actually get something accomplished today for a change.

I guess that’s enough for now. As you can see, I survived the Blizzard of 2016. But now I’m off to see if I can get anything done, which may not be much given Miss Millie seems to be having trouble leaving me alone.

Right now she’s staring at me from her new perch, on her back with legs lifted and spread. She’s definitely a quick learner 😀

I’ll do my best to resist her enticements.

Leave a Reply

