What you didn’t know about Frosty . . .

oh my :-)

Kit comes in from playing in the snow 🙂

As promised, I’m back with another update although it’s not much of one. Since last checking in a couple of weeks ago, I’ve been working entirely on that other story I mentioned in my previous post, not the one I’ve been thinking of sharing with you.

That’s one of the strange things about writing, at least for me. Usually I work on whatever I have the clearest vision for at the moment. Right now that’s one of the tales I’m thinking of writing for something I’ve tentatively titled The Liberation Anthology: Tales from the Revolution.

As the title may suggest, The Liberation Anthology is planned as a series of loosely connected tales chronicling the gay liberation movement in America from the pre-Stonewall nineteen-sixties up to the present time. The focus will be primarily on the period after the Stonewall riots in 1969 when the liberation movement is generally perceived to have taken off.

The stories in the Anthology wouldn’t be a chronological history of the people and events who led the revolution, at least not in the traditional sense. Instead, I see the stories more as an emotional and psychological history of how people responded to what was happening around them.

People aren’t always aware when something important begins. They’re busy leading their everyday lives, sometimes far too busy to appreciate the significance of something like the Stonewall riots; and then a new generation comes along that lacks historical consciousness. Stonewall; what was that?

That’s certainly been the case for me; not being there, I didn’t realize just how important Stonewall was. I had read about it, of course, but it was only from talking to other people that I realized its significance; and yet many of those same people were the first to admit they didn’t know how important Stonewall was at at the time.

So even though a revolution had begun, people responded to being gay in the same old ways. Before people realized it was okay to be gay and proud, others experienced a range of emotions from guilt and denial to self-loathing and shame.

In short, people didn’t get liberated all at once. Some still don’t.

That’s the story I would like to tell at some point through a series of loosely connected tales. It’s an ambitious project and I doubt whether I could ever complete it as currently planned. But I like the idea and for the last couple of weeks I’ve been working on just one of the many potential story lines I’ve developed for the Anthology.

Partly I wanted to see whether that’s something I could write about in a convincing way. I thought writing about the past would be harder than writing about the present; in fact, it turned out I had a clearer vision of the past than the present.

But would the story work as a stand-alone tale? If not, could it be connected to another potential story line that would form a more coherent whole? Or would I have to wait until all the tales were written and publish it as what I had planned, i.e., an anthology?

It’s too soon to say for sure, but I’m reasonably satisfied with what I’ve written. If you saw it, you would probably say the ending is unsatisfactory and that might be the case. But then again not every story in life has a satisfactory ending.

I may post more about all of this within the next month so keep your eyes open. I would probably be doing so to see if you had any story lines you would like to suggest for such an anthology. Bedsides the ones I’ve mentioned (guilt, denial, shame and self-loathing), are there others ways people responded to the discovery they were homosexual fifty years ago?

For now, however, I should probably be getting back to that stand-alone story I mentioned in my last post. Taking a break from it has been good; hopefully I’ll come back to it with a fresher set of eyes.

I was a little surprised that no one had any questions about it, even the simplest: what’s its name? when does it take place? where? what’s it about? But not many people saw that last post, of course, just those of you who get notified whenever I post something new.

I didn’t send out an e-mail to my (small) mailing list so it’s hard to know if I’ve completely lost whatever audience I had. But I suppose I shouldn’t let that deter me. I write for myself mostly, not an audience.

The bottom line is I plan to spend the next month looking at the story, deciding whether I’m satisfied enough to post it online, and when I could realistically do that.

As I’ve mentioned before, there’s still a lot of work that needs to be done once I’m happy enough with a story to consider publishing it. I have to translate it into the html and pdf formats for one thing; then get it uploaded to WordPress. I have to write a synopsis that will give you some idea what the story is about without giving away too much; and then I have to design at least one image to illustrate the synopsis.

I also need to do my best to have a real life in the process, something that involves tasks large and small. Uncle Sam wants his share of all those royalties I earn from these stories, for example.

Oh yeah, I forgot; I don’t have any royalties 🙂

But I still have to file a tax return on the money I earn to support my writing; and to pay for that benevolent military-industrial-espionage complex that’s keeping folks like you and me and Rudy Giuliani safe from the TERRORISTS. I suspect they don’t love Rudy either. Does anyone?

Plus there may be one or two other things I’m interested in. Do you really think someone who writes stories like mine is completely indifferent to all those cuties frolicking around outside building snowmen like those two up above?

So all of that takes time; and I’m going to be disappearing from civilization for a while in June as well. But I’ll try to post again by April 1st at the latest to let you know definitively whether I’ve decided to go forward with the new story or to put it back under wraps and focus my attention elsewhere.

If I do decide to go forward, I should have a better idea what the timeline for the new story might look like then as well.

So that’s it for today. I hope you’re not too disappointed. If you are, the good news is that not many of you are because very few people saw the last post. I doubt more will see this one.

But that’s okay too. Like they say, sometimes less is more.

4 thoughts on “What you didn’t know about Frosty . . .

  1. Sooooooo what’s the stand-alone story about? When does it take place? ftr … I wish you loved soccer as much as you loved baseball because I would love to read a soccer story you wrote.

    1. Too late, Tim; you’ll have to wait now 🙂

      Oh, what the heck, I’m easy. It takes place somewhere in New England in contemporary America. And it’s about a lot of different things like family, work, and dreams; good and evil; and, of course, love.

      Having chosen baseball for a story, I’m not sure another one focused on soccer would add much to what I have to say about sports; though swimming and wrestling play a minor role in the new story while baseball still looms large in a way.

      That should keep you guessing I imagine.

Leave a Reply

