Chapter 42 . . .

so dreamy :-)

Lots of positive comments on that transparent image I used to introduce last week’s chapter. I’m kind of limited in what I can use at this point to illustrate the chapters without being rebuked by WordPress, but I’ll keep trying to find something that keeps you engaged with the story. We’ll stick with black and white this week.

I want to thank everyone who offered their opinion on what I should do with those chapters I’m concerned about. No one seemed to be bored although one person favored moving things along a bit faster. Several others wanted to retain the chapters, but most people just felt I should make the call myself.

I’m still trying to figure out whether they can be made workable. I’ll have to make a decision by a week from today. If you didn’t already see my post on this before, take a look at it now and let me know what you think. I’m still open to any thoughts people have.

It’s a little hard to explain all of this, but basically I started with a good draft of the story many months ago. The way I work, I spend a lot of time rewriting the chapters as I go along. Sometimes I add new material or elaborate on things I’ve already written. Other times I toss things out that don’t seem to make sense or don’t work very well; and then some chapters don’t change much at all.

The bottom line is that the story evolves along the way, sometimes dramatically; and now I’ve reached a point where the original draft doesn’t make as much sense anymore because of all the changes I’ve made along the way. It’s a challenge, but we’ll get through it one way or another. In any event, like I said, thanks for all the comments.

I’ve posted Chapter 41. You can find it here. This was a difficult chapter to write for still an entirely different reason. It required trying to find the right balance between portraying the passion Ethan and Riley are experiencing without abandoning some messages it’s important for people to hear.

I did my best, but I’m not sure I got it exactly right. You’ll have to be the judge. In any event, have fun reading and be sure to let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

