Chapter 40 . . .

how little it takes to make someone happy :-)

Too much snow and ice for me the last couple of days, but I managed to survive and it seems like the upcoming week will be warmer. I’m looking forward to that.

Sad news on another front as well, at least for some of my American readers. Ralph Waite, the actor who played the father of the clan in the 1970s television series The Waltons, died this past week. I read his obituary in the New York Times and it sounds like he was a good actor, one whose life was troubled at times.

I mention this because I imagine Mary Ellen Meehan is in mourning somewhere. You remember Mary Ellen, that young girl who introduced Hunter to sex partly because she thought he looked like Jim-Bob Walton. Knowing my audience trends older, I figured some of you would be familiar with the series and thought I would mention this.

As for the story, Chapter 40 has forced me to make a decision I’ve been putting off for a while. Without boring you with all the details, suffice it to say that none of the choices was especially appealing. The one I’ve made means that the story will run at least one chapter longer than originally planned unless I can find a chapter to drop down the road. We’re in rough waters here so that may be possible.

I doubt you’ll notice anything different in this chapter. It’s a fairly long one, but the next few will be shorter. In any event, I’ve posted Chapter 40. You can find it here. Have fun reading and be sure to let know what you think.

By the way, in all the excitement I missed posting my traditional Valentine’s Day message so you’ll have to be satisfied with this belated message. I know. I know. I’m getting much too lackadaisical in my postings, but I’m not feeling the love from you either 🙂

Be My Valentine

Leave a Reply

