Happy Thanksgiving everyone …

let us give thanks that none of us are turkeys :-)

Happy Thanksgiving everyone from warm and sunny Cancun!

Um, no, I guess that it isn’t quite right. I’m not really in Cancun. In fact, I’m not even sitting in front of a computer somewhere typing this message on Thanksgiving morning. I did that last night and then scheduled it for publication today.

Come to think of it, it may not even be all that warm and sunny where I am 🙂

But the Thanksgiving greetings are genuine! And I hope you have a terrific day even if you live somewhere else and aren’t celebrating Thanksgiving today.

On the story front, there’s good news and bad news. The bad news is I won’t be able to start posting With Apologies Mr. Dickens until Friday, November 30th.

That’s a shame because the day after Thanksgiving would have been perfect to start the story for reasons you’ll find out when the first chapter goes up next week. However, there are only so many hours in the day. Between the other story I’m working on, editing and rewriting this story, all the tedious work involved in getting it ready for posting online, and trying to have a life, there’s only so much a poor boy can do.

In other words, I’m working my butt off, people! But the good news is that I’m pleased with all the rewriting and editing I’ve done on the story the last couple of weeks. I think it’s definitely stronger than ever as a result. I’m even beginning to like it myself 🙂

Right now it looks like the story is going to be about twelve chapters and 57,000 words long. That’s quite a bit longer than last planned and about twice the size of A Christmas Carol. Mr. Dickens would be perfectly entitled to chastise me about the length. But I’m much happier with the story now than before.

In terms of the posting schedule, I plan to post one chapter every Friday evening until the whole story is up. That means the last chapter will likely appear on February 15th. I like this schedule. It begins a little after Thanksgiving and runs until just after Valentine’s Day, both of which are appropriate bookends for the story.

In between we’ll be celebrating Christmas and New Year’s Day, honoring a great leader of the civil rights movement, Martin Luther King, Jr., and inaugurating a President here in the States who, however flawed, has done more for gay rights than any of his predecessors.

For those of you in the United States, have a happy Thanksgiving. For everyone reading this notice, have a nice day and thanks for sticking with me.

It means a lot and I hope all of you will enjoy the story.

4 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving everyone …

  1. Thanks Kid,   You are a sweet lad.   Happy Thanksgiving to you too.   And thanks for what I’m sure will be a wonderfully Dickinsian tale; I’m looking forward to it.   Hugs,   James

    ________________________________

    1. Thanks, James. As for the story, keep in mind that my aim is to engage the full range of human emotions to the extent I can.

      There will be things that make you sad, things that may even shock and enrage you. But hopefully there will be things that make you smile as well and leave you feeling uplifted for having read it.

      It’s my holiday gift to you and I’ll be disappointed if you don’t come away thinking you’ve just received a Valentine Day’s card from me.

    1. Thanks, Tom. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving too. Mine was mildly entertaining and occasionally fun and now that I’m back I have to get down to business and start getting stuff done.

Leave a Reply

