Happy Halloween Everyone …

halloween night

I’m bored, I’m broke and I’m back … and I’m scrambling like crazy to get this post written and scheduled for Halloween morning. Sandy (aka Frankenstorm) has come and gone; and while Washington seemed to escape the brunt of the storm by-and-large, the loss of life and damage elsewhere was pretty devastating so I’m trying to be mindful of that while writing this post.

For now let me just say a couple of things. First, I had a terrific time on my trip to Vermont and Massachusetts. For those of you who actually read Connected, I even managed to squeeze in time for a hot dog at Jack’s. That set me back $1.28, which is still a pretty good bargain; and the dog wasn’t even as greasy as usual.

It seems like I’ve been busier than ever since returning from New England. On Saturday, October 27, I participated in AIDS Walk Washington. It was a beautiful morning and a great day for walking and we had a pretty good turnout as well, one that was both fun and diverse. The event had raised a little over $805,000 to support the fight against AIDS the last time I checked, but donations are still coming in and hopefully we’ll reach our goal, which is to raise $1 million.

Only time will tell whether that happens, but it’s a great cause, people were friendly and enthusiastic, and I had a terrific time. I also want to thank all the friends who supported my participation in the Walk. Events like this are pretty common in Washington so I recognize people have lots of choices when it comes to supporting worthy causes. The fact that so many supported my walk, both financially and through their encouragement and support, was much appreciated.

The free t-shirt and hoodie should also help keep me clothed for another year 🙂

Okay, yes, I realize no one really cares about my life, such as it is, so I will now move on to the important stuff. Unfortunately, there isn’t any important stuff. I don’t really have a lot to add to my previous posting at this time except to say that I’m working on a post about my next story and hope to put it up in the next week or two.

Keep your eyes posted for that because the story itself will follow shortly thereafter, at least if everything goes according to plan. But when was the last time Washington delivered a plan on time?

I have managed to do a bit more on the longer story I mentioned in my previous post, but now I’m going to have give this other story my full time attention if I hope to have it ready in time for the holidays. Unfortunately, it’s undergoing a last minute massive revision so we’ll have to see how that works out.

If you’re in the United States, I hope you have a safe and happy Halloween. I realize a lot of people won’t be celebrating because of Sandy and I hope encouraging folks to have a good time doesn’t seem insensitive.

In any event, I hope to be among the ghosts and goblins making the rounds of Washington this evening and I’ll even leave a treat out here, some eye candy, for all the good little boys out there who miss out on the fun this evening 🙂

whipped cream is so delicious :-)

We also have an important election coming up in a couple of days and there’s a lot at stake for those of us in the LGBT community. I’m not going to tell you who to vote for. If you’re gay and don’t already know who to support, we’re in serious trouble. All I’ll say is that the Guardians of Plutocracy (GOP) are not your friends.

4 thoughts on “Happy Halloween Everyone …

  1. Why would you suggest no one cares about your life? Some of us quiet folk (me) do care about you and what you are doing; your life brightens ours (mine), lad. Hugs.

    1. Wow! Thanks for the words and the hugs, James. What a totally awesome response to such a boring post.

      Um, listen, James, would you like to come visit some time? I’m sure I’ll collect lots of nice treats tonight and I love sharing my candy with men 🙂

      And I’m not trying to trick you either 🙂

      If not, have a happy Halloween wherever you are (I suspect you are far away).

      1. I’d enjoy that. However, I am in southeast Virginia, not a quick drive or train ride. But not out of the question for a vacaton trip. Thanks for asking.

Leave a Reply

