We are the youth …

Tom

We Are the Youth is a photographic journalism project chronicling the individual stories of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender youth in the United States. Through photographic portraits and “as told to” interviews in the participants’ own voices, We Are the Youth captures the incredible diversity and uniqueness of American LGBT youth.

We Are the Youth provides a space to share stories in an honest and respectful way. Since June 2010, it has profiled more than 40 young people. While the profiles on the website currently feature youth from the Northeast and the South, We Are the Youth aims to be even more geographically diverse as the project expands.

Pictured above is Tom, who is 18 and lives in Red Hook, New York. Here are the first two paragraphs of his profile.

My dad passed away when I was two years old of a benign brain tumor, and after that my mom started using heroin and cocaine, on and off for years. When she was high, she’d always get paranoid. She’d keep me up at weird hours of the night.

If you had seen me at school, I was always the happy guy. During the day I’d be laughing and joking. But I literally created an alternate personality for myself. Then I’d come home from school, bring my dinner upstairs and not talk to my mom. I would lock the door to my bedroom. Read more of Tom’s profile.

You can find all of the profiles here. If you would like to support the work of this organization, there are a couple of ways to do so. Find out more by following this link.

4 thoughts on “We are the youth …

  1. This project is a great initiative to support freedom of expression and also a positive way of allowing people to be proud of who they really are.

    1. I’m surprised you found the posting and I’m happy you liked it. I don’t have many followers, but hopefully it has generated some interest in your work.

      As for the thanks, well, we are the ones who should be thanking you for this really positive and uplifting way of profiling LGBT youth. It’s nice to see people like you and your colleagues doing something positive!

Leave a Reply

